We Should Be Together, no?

A lot of people have been asking us to post up our song lyrics for the album, and I’m a bit hesitant to do this because I’d rather save everything for the album. Then again, the album sleeve will just have the words and not the story behind the song right?

The Process.

The general favourite from the album right now is “We Should Be Together”, and I love that song too. The selling point I guess is the fact that it’s a duet between Bani and I, even though we’re not in love (Wan might get jealous), plus the string quartet just makes people wanna cry. I’ve always wanted to write a song that has Bani and I singing an octave apart on the whole song and eventually progress into him doing a screamo thing while I just sing, and WSBT kinda started off as that, then I don’t know how but I think I got a little sappy (and a tad sleepy) and it suddenly started becoming a love song. That’s when I decided that this song needed an extra bit of oomph, so I got the amazing Bang Wenfu to arrange the string parts for us, and Artsylum String Quartet awesome-ly (is that even a term?) agreed to play for us.

We actually did a whole bunch of demo recordings at Alvin’s place before we even did the concert at the Esplanade, and if you listen to the version we recorded it sounds kinda different.

*click here to listen to demo version*

Firstly cause it’s just 2 of me singing the parts (this was when Bani was still learning the song), secondly it’s a whole key down. I was supposed to sing all the higher parts and Bani the lower parts, but because our vocal ranges were rather weird at certain parts of the songs, we decided to swap around here and there. That led to the YouTube video of us in the jamming studio singing WSBT, we spent a good 90mins trying to rearrange the song. I think it was the only song that made all four of us really sit down, tear it apart and put it back together, I think that’s why I love it even more. And I’m sure Alvin wishes he had his camera on him when we rehearsed it for the first time with Artsylum, cause I started crying like an idiot when they joined in just before the first chorus.

The Meaning.

I guess this song applies to anyone in any type of situation where the love between two people is “forbidden” for whatever reason, and you can’t seem to get past it. My personal account of this song is quite a sensitive one, and I hope that I will not be judged for saying what I’m about to say. My boyfriend is the most amazing person I have ever been with, and I’ve never been happier. Yet, we may not be able to be together because he’s Muslim, I’m Christian. Trust me, I’ve been through this over and over in my head a million times – “what’re we going to do?” We’re all Singaporean (well mostly), so I don’t really need to go into details about why this is an issue. I’ve even had someone send me a Facebook message asking for advice because she’s in the same situation, and I didn’t really reply not cause I was trying to be rude, but I really had no idea what to tell her. So basically, WSBT is my outlet to say that even though we’re having our own personal struggles with this, everyone else’s opinions don’t really help and we shouldn’t let them get to us. At the end of the day, Athif and I have an amazing connection going on between us, and it just really sucks that something like religion is standing between us. What is even worse is that religion is very important for the both of us, so in the words of Russel Peters, “WE GOT STUCK.”

I know the lyrics are cheesy, but I’m cheesy (HAHA), and they’re supposed to be like a conversation between Bani and I. Some people get confused by the lead in to the chorus, cause they think that “but if everyone says hold on we should be together” is a whole phrase, but it’s not. It’s like I’m saying “but if everyone says…” and I get cut off with “hold on, we should be together”. It’s just my way of playing with phrasing and confusing people so that the meaning isn’t so in-your-face clear cut.

Well, hope all that makes you understand the song a little better and hear it with different ears the next time you play it on your computer.

“WE SHOULD BE TOGETHER” by 53A.

I don’t ever want to let you go
I don’t ever want you hurt
I don’t ever want another guy
Baby don’t even try

Maybe if I stay
Why would you wanna leave
Will we ever agree?
Will we ever agree.
But if everyone says

Hold on we should be together
If that’s wrong I don’t wanna be right
If you love me then stay on
Just tell me to be strong
Cause no one else
Will understand

Why I have a smile when you’re around
Y’know it’s hard to see that
Lately I have been in a daze
Baby everything stays

Maybe if I stay
Why would you wanna leave
Will we ever agree?
Will we ever agree.
But if everyone says

Hold on we should be together
If that’s wrong I don’t wanna be right
If you love me then stay on
Just tell me to be strong
Cause no one else
Will understand

That we’re in love
That we’re in love.

peace.

saleeloo.

9 responses to “We Should Be Together, no?

  1. i’ve been waiting for the lyrics for AGES!

    and boy did that hit close to home.

    AWESOME POST SARAAAAAA!!!

  2. i must say, you write some nice posts.

    And nice songs.

    see you soon! =)

  3. I know that you guys are always busy and stuff but it’s blog like this that sometimes, you know, sometimes just makes people’s day. Stories, lullabies, experiences, non-sense or whatever is always great to read from people’s perspective. Not saying that your tweet or FB messages are useless, they’re great and funny too. I’m just saying I miss sitting down and reading stories from real people about real stuff and this is one of the best one so far.
    Always following and always loving the band šŸ™‚
    So attending the launch of the album.

  4. i love this songg! šŸ˜€

  5. Sigh, best song ever! Just that it hits so close sometimes, its sad that society has to be like this šŸ˜¦ Hang in there Sara!

  6. i know u get asked this alot. but i’ll still ask anyway. could u please post the chords?

  7. Found this post when i was searching for the lyrics while watching a vid of We Should Be Together on youtube haha…Just an ordinary dude here offering my 50cts worth..

    I guess at the end of the day, life is all about having that somebody whom you can connect with in the most important ways ever. On top of that, you gotta have the physical chemistry. And then you gotta have the lurveeee. Yes, not easy at all to find all these in one person. So I think it’s damn awesome that you found somebody like that!

    Yes, religion is v impt to you guys. But just like a staunch christian can be a complete jerk, so can a devout muslim. What I’m saying is in any relationship, there are bound to be problems to overcome. Maybe you can think of your difference in religions as one of them? In this case, a very difficult one to overcome, no doubt, but when (not if, but when) you do, the reward is (potentially) a lifetime of happiness, no? And you are so right, the only person whose opinion really really matters, is that of your own. Nobody else is living your life. So I say, Work It Out! Good luck! =)

  8. I’m a Filipino, and we Asians rock \m/ šŸ˜€ my friend once told me bout this song.. can you post what are the guitar chords? .. we really like it very much hehe.. Thank you guys šŸ™‚

  9. šŸ™‚ its beautiful

Leave a comment